Part 5.3: Degrees, Diplomas and Certificates of the University


The degrees, certificates and diplomas of the University may be awarded:  to candidates who have satisfactorily completed a programme and assessment, or, in the
            case of a Higher Doctorate or a Doctor of Philosophy (by Previously Published Work),    
            whose published work has been examined and approved.  honoris causa, except that the degree of PhD shall not be thus awarded.  by decree of the Senate.


Where the Senate has awarded degrees ad eundem to past students of the College of Advanced Technology Birmingham or its predecessor institutions, such degrees shall carry the same rights and privileges as substantive degrees.


The awards of the University shall be:           Aston Diplomas and Certificates:

(i)       Foundation Diploma (FDip)           Diplomas and Certificates:

(i)       Certificate of Higher Education (CertHE)
(ii)      Diploma of Higher Education (DipHE)
(iii)     Graduate Diploma (GradDip)
(iv)     Postgraduate Certificate (PGCert)
(v)      Postgraduate Diploma (PGDip)           First Degrees:

(i)        Bachelor of Arts (BA)
(ii)      Bachelor of Engineering (BEng)
(iii)     Bachelor of Laws (LLB)
(iii)     Bachelor of Medicine, Bachelor of Surgery (MBChB)
(iv)     Bachelor of Science (BSc)           Foundation Degrees:

(i)         Foundation Degree Arts (FdA)
(ii)        Foundation Degree Engineering (FdEng)
(iii)       Foundation Degree Science (FdSc)           Higher Degrees:

(i)         Doctor of Business Administration (DBA)
(ii)      Doctor of Education (EdD)
(iii)     Doctor of Hearing Therapy (DHearing Therapy)
(iv)       Doctor of Medicine (MD)
(v)        Doctor of Ophthalmic Science (DOphSc)
(vi)       Doctor of Optometry (DOptom)
(vii)      Doctor of Pharmacy (PharmD)
(viii)     Doctor of Philosophy (PhD)
(ix)       Engineering Doctorate (EngD)
(x)        Master of Arts (MA)
(xi)       Master of Arts (by Research) (MA(Research))
(xii)      Master of Business Administration (MBA)
(xiii)     Master of Education (MEd)
(xiv)    Master of Laws (LLM)
(xv)    Master of Orthopaedic Surgery (MCh Orth)
(xvi)   Master of Philosophy (MPhil)
Master of Research (MRes)
(xviii) Master of Science (MSc)
(xix)   Master of Science (by Research) (MSc(Research))           Higher Doctorates:

(i)        Doctor of Letters (DLitt)
(ii)       Doctor of Science (DSc)           Integrated Masters Degrees:

(i)        Master of Biology (MBiol)
(ii)       Master of Chemistry (MChem)
(iii)      Master of Engineering (MEng)
(iv)      Master of Pharmacy (MPharm)
(v)     Master of Physics (MPhys)
(vi)      Master of Optometry (MOptom)
(vii)    Master of Science (MSci)


The degrees (other than honoris causa), diplomas and certificates of the University shall be awarded by the authority of the Senate on the recommendation of the Boards of Examiners concerned.