Research Committee


The Research Committee develops, enables and evaluates the implementation of the University strategy for Research, ensuring that the strategy is consistent with School Research Strategies and the University’s overall strategy Aston2020.

Graduate School Management Committee considers and makes recommendations concerning the regulation, assurance and enhancement of the quality and standards of research degree programmes, including the supervision, training and examination of postgraduate research students.

Research Ethics Committee provides advice to Research Committee and Senate on the development, implementation and review of institutional procedures and guidelines relating to ethical issues arising from research, consultancy and other related activities, taking into account emerging issues of institutional, national or international significance. The Research Ethics Committee maintains a broad framework of guidelines within which Schools may establish local codes of ethics. Considers and approves on behalf of Senate the acceptability of standards of safety and welfare of human experimental subjects in all projects carried out in the University.

Terms of Reference

Professor Simon Green (Chair)
Nasir Bello (Postgraduate research student representative)
Professor Roslyn Bill
Professor Stephanie Decker
Dr Val Franklin
Dr Sotos Generalis
Professor Anna Hine
Marie Hughes (Postgraduate research student representative)
Dr Angela Jeffery
Professor Phillip Mizen
Professor Gertrud Reershemius
John Richards
Rebecca Stokes
Dr Kate Sugden
Dr Keqing Wang
Heather Whitehouse
Professor James Wolffsohn