Quality Identifier Small

Learning and Teaching Committee (LTC)

About

Purpose of the committee:

To develop, enable and evaluate the implementation of the University Strategy for Learning and Teaching.  To consider and make recommendations on the enhancement of the quality and standards of taught programmes and of the student learning experience.

Reports to:

Senate

Committees and Groups that report to this Committee

Operational Learning and Teaching Committee

Membership and Terms of Reference

You can find a full list of members in the Membership List document below, or you can view the members by area in the table further down this page.

You can find more detailed information about this committee in the Terms of Reference below:

Chair and Secretary

  Name Email
 Chair  Professor Helen Higson  helen.higson@aston.ac.uk
 Secretary  Sarah Davies  s.j.davies@aston.ac.uk

 

Membership by Area Represented

 Aston Business School  Jason Evans  j.evans4@aston.ac.uk
 Aston Business School (School Learning and Teaching Committee)  Simon Finley  s.finley@aston.ac.uk
 Aston Business School (Academic Staff)  Colin Chapman  c.chapman1@aston.ac.uk
 Aston Medical School  Liz Bridges  e.bridges@aston.ac.uk
 Aston Medical School (School Learning and Teaching Committee)  Professor Helen Cameron  helen.cameron@aston.ac.uk
 Collaborative Provision Strategy Group (CPSG)  Professor Helen Higson  helen.higson@aston.ac.uk
 Graduate Outcomes Strategy Group  Etta Parkes  e.l.parkes1@aston.ac.uk
 Human Resources  Claire Freeman  c.e.freeman@aston.ac.uk
 Information Services  Jeremy Batt  j.p.batt@aston.ac.uk
 Learning Development Centre (LDC)  Ellen Pope  e.l.pope@aston.ac.uk
 Learning Technologies Management Group  Chris Wilson  c.j.wilson@aston.ac.uk
 Library Services  Heather Whitehouse  h.d.whitehouse@aston.ac.uk
 Operational Learning and Teaching Committee  Professor Ruth Ayres  r.ayres@aston.ac.uk
 Programme Approval Steering Committee (PASC)  Yvonne Henderson  y.henderson@aston.ac.uk
 Programme Approval Steering Committee (PASC)  Dr Alan Goddard  a.goddard@aston.ac.uk
 Quality Assurance and Quality Enhancement  Sarah Davies  s.j.davies@aston.ac.uk
 Regulation Sub-Committee (RSC)  Professor Chris Langley  c.a.langley@aston.ac.uk
 School of Engineering and Applied Science  Professor Tony Clark  tony.clark@aston.ac.uk
 School of Engineering and Applied Science (School Learning and Teaching Committee)  Dr Gillian Knight  g.knight@aston.ac.uk
 School of Engineering and Applied Science (Academic Staff)  Dr Aniko Ekart  a.ekart@aston.ac.uk
 School of Languages and Social Sciences  Dr Virginie Grzelczyk  v.grzelczyk@aston.ac.uk
 School of Languages and Social Sciences (School Learning and Teaching Committee)  Dr Raquel Fernandez-Sanchez  r.fernandez-sanchez@aston.ac.uk
 School of Languages and Social Sciences (Academic Staff)  Elisabeth Wielander  e.wielander@aston.ac.uk
 School of Life and Health Sciences  Dr Liz Moores  e.j.moores@aston.ac.uk
 School of Life and Health Sciences (School Learning and Teaching Committee)  Dr Ann Vernallis  a.b.vernallis@aston.ac.uk
 School of Life and Health Sciences (Academic Staff)  Professor Chris Langley  c.a.langley@aston.ac.uk
 Student and Academic Services  Alison Levey  a.levey@aston.ac.uk
 Student Employability  Etta Parkes  E.L.Parkes1@aston.ac.uk
 Student Representative (UG)  Itisha Adukia  
 Student Representative (PGT)  Marwin Zimmermann  
 Student Representation Group  Pawan Kumar Neglur  union.vpe@aston.ac.uk
 Student Representation Group  Alison Levey  a.levey@aston.ac.uk
 Students' Union  Pawan Kumar Neglur  union.vpe@aston.ac.uk
 Student Voice/Communication  Dawn Vos  d.vos1@aston.ac.uk

 

Meetings

This Committee meets four times in each academic year.

Dates for 2019/20

 Date Time
 28 October 2019  10:00 - 12:00
 26 February 2020  11:00 - 13:30
 07 May 2020  10:00 - 12:00
 23 June 2020  10:00 - 12:30

 

LTC Strategy/Sharing Session

 Date Time
 23 June 2020        12:00 - 15:30

 

News and Updates

The Committee is currently involved in the following: the development of Learning and Teaching strategies to reflect the new University Strategy; the development of the Digital Learning Strategy; the implementation of Peer Observation policies; oversight of the Curriculum Management and Business Information Portal projects; implementation of the standardisation of module credit size; review of the assessment of the placement year, the policy for the recording of lectures and the assessment of student group work. 


Resources

Minutes

The minutes of the most recent meetings can be found at the link below (staff login required):

Agendas, minutes and papers from previous and for future meetings can be found on the BlackBoard module for this committee.  If you would like access to these papers, please contact Lesley Stewart who will enable the access permissions.

University Learning and Teaching Strategy

Quality Committees

You can find more information about Committees supported by the Quality Team on the Quality Committees page

University Committee System

For more information on the University's Committee System, please visit the  University Committee Webpages