Quality Identifier Small

University Learning and Teaching Committee (ULTC)


Purpose of the committee:

The purpose of this committee is to develop, enable and evaluate the implementation of the University strategy for Learning and Teaching, ensuring that the College Learning and Teaching Strategies are consistent with this strategy, and that all Learning and Teaching strategies support the University’s over-arching strategy.

The committee also has responsibility for enabling and evaluating the work of Colleges and central departments in identifying, promoting and disseminating effective practice and innovation in programme design and delivery, and in teaching, feedback and assessment methodologies, and making recommendations on the enhancement of the quality and standards of taught programmes and of the student learning experience.

Reports to:


Membership and Terms of Reference

You can find a full list of members in the Membership List document below, or you can view the members by area in the table further down this page.

You can find more detailed information about this committee in the Terms of Reference below:

Chair and Secretary

  Name Email
 Chair  Professor Ruth Ayres  [email protected]
 Secretary  Yvonne Henderson  [email protected]


Membership by Area Represented

 College of Business and Social Sciences  Professor Sue Garton  [email protected]
 College of Business and Social Sciences  Dr Keith Schofield  [email protected]
 College of Business and Social Sciences  Dr Lloyd Parsons  [email protected]
 College of Engineering and Physical Sciences  Dr Gill Knight   [email protected]
 College of Engineering and Physical Sciences  Dr Randa Herzallah  [email protected]
 College of Engineering and Physical Sciences  Dr Patrick Geoghegan  [email protected]
 College of Health and Life Sciences  Dr Duane Mellor   [email protected]
 College of Health and Life Sciences  Dr Alan Goddard   [email protected]
 College of Health and Life Sciences  Dr Ann Vernallis  [email protected]
 College of Health and Life Sciences  Dr Rob Nash  [email protected]
 Collaborative Provision Steering Group  Professor Helen Higson  [email protected]
 Collaborative Provision Steering Group  Belinda Cross  [email protected]
 Programme Approval Steering Committee (PASC)  Dr Alan Goddard   [email protected]
 Programme Approval Steering Committee (PASC)  Yvonne Henderson  [email protected]
 Programme Approval Steering Committee (PASC)  Belinda Cross  [email protected]
 Programme Approval Steering Committee  Professor Chris Langley  [email protected]
 Regulatory Sub-Committee  Adam Hewitt  [email protected]
 Director of Academic Quality  Yvonne Henderson  [email protected]
 Director of Student and Academic Services  Alison Levey  [email protected]
 Careers and Employability Lead  Alison Levey  [email protected]
 Director of Library Services  Helen Curtiss  [email protected]
 HR Representative  Claire Freeman  [email protected]
 Head of CELCA  Ania Bailey  [email protected]
 Head of Learning Development Centre  Ellen Pope   [email protected]
 Education Team Representative  Chris Wilson  [email protected]
 Technology Enhanced Learning Representative  Chris Wilson  [email protected]
 Digital Services Representative  Nick Meara  [email protected]
 Estates Representative  Claire Evans  [email protected]
 VP Education  Yesmeen Singh  [email protected]



This Committee meets four times in each academic year.

Dates for 2021/22

 Date Time
 15 October 2021  09:00 - 12:00
 27 January 2022  13:00 - 16:00
 05 May 2022  13:00 - 16:00
 05 July 2022  13:00 - 16:00


News and Updates

The Committee is currently involved in the following: the development of Learning and Teaching strategies to reflect the new University Strategy; the development of the Digital Learning Strategy; the implementation of Peer Observation policies; oversight of the Curriculum Management and Business Information Portal projects; implementation of the standardisation of module credit size; review of the assessment of the placement year, the policy for the recording of lectures and the assessment of student group work. 



The minutes of the most recent meetings can be found at the link below (staff login required):

Agendas, minutes and papers from previous and for future meetings can be found on the BlackBoard module for this committee.  If you would like access to these papers, please contact Lesley Stewart who will enable the access permissions.

University Learning and Teaching Strategy

Quality Committees

You can find more information about Committees supported by the Quality Team on the Quality Committees page

College Learning and Teaching Committees

Terms of Reference for College Learning and Teaching Committees

University Committee System

For more information on the University's Committee System, please visit the  University Committee Webpages