Quality Identifier Small

Programme Approval Steering Committee (PASC)


Purpose of the Committee:

To approve new programmes in liaison with Programme Specific Approval Panels (PSAPs) and to approve modifications to existing programmes and withdrawals.

Reports to:

Committees and Groups that report to this Committee:

Working Group on Approval Processes for AMAs and Non-Credit-Bearing Activity

Related Committees and Groups:

Membership and Terms Of Reference

You can find a full list of members in the Membership List document below, or you can view the members by area in the table further down this page.

You can find more detailed information about this committee in the Terms of Reference below:

Chair and Secretary:

Chair and Secretary
 Post Name Email
 Chairs Alan Goddard (Co-Chair)
Yvonne Henderson (Co-Chair)
Secretary Belinda Cross b.cross@aston.ac.uk

Membership by Area Represented:

The table below provides the contact details of the member(s) of this committee representing your area:

Area Represented Member Email
 Aston Business School  Matthew Olczak m.olczak@aston.ac.uk
 Aston Business School  Sukhwinder Salh s.salh@aston.ac.uk
 Aston Business School  Jenny Holt j.e.holt@aston.ac.uk
 Aston Medical School  Ray Carson r.carson@aston.ac.uk
 Aston Student Union  Pawan Kumar Neglur union.vpe@aston.ac.uk
 CLIPP  Jon Taylor j.r.taylor@aston.ac.uk
 CLIPP  Chris Wilson c.j.wilson@aston.ac.uk
 Finance  Gurpal Singh Rai raig1@aston.ac.uk
 Library and Information Services  Vacancy  
 Market Research  Phil Burke p.burke@aston.ac.uk
 Regulation Sub-Committee (RSC)  Adam Hewitt a.hewitt@aston.ac.uk
 School of Engineering and Applied Sciences  Professor Tony Clark tony.clark@aston.ac.uk
 School of Engineering and Applied Sciences  Lucy Rackliff l.rackliff@aston.ac.uk
 School of Engineering and Applied Sciences  Donna Wheat d.wheat@aston.ac.uk
 School of Languages and Social Sciences  Elisabeth Wielander e.wielander@aston.ac.uk
 School of Languages and Social Sciences  Uwe Wunderlich j.u.wunderlich@aston.ac.uk
 School of Life and Health Sciences  Olivia Hunt o.a.hunt@aston.ac.uk
 School of Life and Health Sciences  Trevor Knight t.knight@aston.ac.uk
 School of Life and Health Sciences  Cathy Slack c.slack@aston.ac.uk
 Student and Academic Services  Monjur Ahmed m.ahmed@aston.ac.uk
 Student and Academic Services  James Holmes j.holmes3@aston.ac.uk


This Committee meets on a monthly basis.

Dates for 2019/20

This committee is scheduled to meet on the following dates:

 Date Time Room Deadline for papers
 10 September 2019  10:00 - 12:00  Council Room  27 August 2019
 15 October 2019  11:00 - 13:00  MB437  02 October 2019
 11 November 2019  10:00 - 12:00  Council Room  28 October 2019
 11 December 2019  14:00 - 16:00  Council Room  27 November 2019
 07 February 2020  10:00 - 12:00  Council Room  24 January 2020
 06 March 2020  14:00 - 16:00  Council Room  21 March 2020
 08 April 2020  14:00 - 16:00  Council Room  25 March 2020
 21 May 2020  10:00 - 12:00  Council Room  07 May 2020
 03 July 2019  10:00 - 12:00  SW1109  19 June 2020

News and Updates

The Committee will be undertaking the following work during 2019/20:

  1. Development of guidelines/design principles for differentiation of credit for award titles (continuation of work-stream from 2018/19)
  2. Review of Student Consultation process (continuation of work-stream from 2018/19)
  3. Training of PSAP Chairs (continuation of work-stream from 2018-19)
  4. Review of Design Product Principle: “Modules will not have more than two items of assessment (independent of the size of the module);
  5. Modification definitions: what constitutes a minor/major modification

Resources (login required)

Previous Meeting Minutes

Quality Committees

You can find more information about Committees supported by the Quality Team on the Quality Committees page

University Committee System

For more information on the University's Committee System, please visit the University Committee Webpages