Quality Identifier Small

Programme Approval Steering Committee (PASC)

About

Purpose of the Committee:

To approve new programmes in liaison with Programme Specific Approval Panels (PSAPs) and to approve modifications to existing programmes and withdrawals.

Reports to:

Committees and Groups that report to this Committee:

Working Group on Approval Processes for AMAs and Non-Credit-Bearing Activity

Related Committees and Groups:

Membership and Terms Of Reference

You can find a full list of members in the Membership List document below, or you can view the members by area in the table further down this page.

You can find more detailed information about this committee in the Terms of Reference below:

Chair and Secretary:

  Name Email
 Chair  Carol Marley  c.n.marley@aston.ac.uk
 Secretary  Belinda Cross  b.cross@aston.ac.uk


Membership by Area Represented:

The table below provides the contact details of the member(s) of this committee representing your area:

Area Represented Member Email
 Aston Business School  Matthew Olczak  m.olczak@aston.ac.uk
 Aston Business School  Louise Millard  l.g.millard@aston.ac.uk
 Aston Business School  Sarah Worton  s.worton@aston.ac.uk
 Aston Business School  Jenny Holt  j.e.holt@aston.ac.uk
 Aston Medical School  Ray Carson  r.carson@aston.ac.uk
 Aston Student Union  Ifti Hussain  union.vpe@aston.ac.uk
 CLIPP  Belinda Cross  b.cross@aston.ac.uk
 CLIPP  Professor Frank Eperjesi  f.eperjesi@aston.ac.uk
 CLIPP  Chris Wilson  c.j.wilson@aston.ac.uk
 Finance  Gurpal Singh Rai  raig1@aston.ac.uk
 Library and Information Services  Angela Brady  a.e.brady@aston.ac.uk
 Market Research  Phil Burke  p.burke@aston.ac.uk
 School of Engineering and Applied Sciences  Professor Tony Clark  tony.clark@aston.ac.uk
 School of Engineering and Applied Sciences  Donna Wheat  d.wheat@aston.ac.uk
 School of Languages and Social Sciences  Yvonne Henderson  y.henderson@aston.ac.uk
 School of Languages and Social Sciences  Dr Erika Darics  e.darics@aston.ac.uk
 School of Life and Health Sciences  Dr Alan Goddard  a.goddard@aston.ac.uk
 School of Life and Health Sciences  Trevor Knight  t.knight@aston.ac.uk
Student and Academic Services  Monjur Ahmed  m.ahmed@aston.ac.uk


Meetings

This Committee meets on a monthly basis.

Dates for 2018/19

This committee is scheduled to meet on the following dates:

 
 Date Time Room Deadline for papers
 13 September 2018  14:00 - 16:00  SW407  30 August 2018
 18 October 2018  14:00 - 16:00  MB437  04 October 2018
 23 November 2018  10:00 - 12:00  Council Room  09 November 2018
 13 December 2018  14:00 - 16:00  MB154  29 November 2018
 18 January 2019 - Cancelled  10:00 - 12:00  MB154  04 January 2019
 27 Febuary 2019  14:00 - 16:00  MB437  13 February 2019
 20 March 2019  14:00 - 16:00 Council Room  08 March 2019
 17 April 2019  10:00 - 12:00  MB154  03 Arpil 2019
 23 May 2019  10:00 - 12:00  MB154  08 May 2019
 05 July 2019  14:00 - 16:00  MB154  21 June 2019


News and Updates

The Committee will be undertaking the following work during 2018/19:

  1. Review of Programme Specification Approval Panels (PSAP);
  2. Development of guidelines/design principles for differentiation of credit for award titles;
  3. Development of guidelines/design principles for assessment equivalency;
  4. Review of Student Consultation process;
  5. Development of guidelines/design principle which outline how to reflect attendance/engagement of students within module specifications and alignment with learning outcomes.

You can also find the latest news on the quality team's activities by visiting the  quality team news page.

Resources (login required)

Previous Meeting Minutes

Quality Committees

You can find more information about Committees supported by the Quality Team on the Quality Committees page

University Committee System

For more information on the University's Committee System, please visit the University Committee Webpages