Quality Identifier Small

Programme Approval Steering Committee (PASC)

About

Purpose of the Committee:

To approve new programmes in liaison with Programme Specific Approval Panels (PSAPs) and to approve modifications to existing programmes and withdrawals.

Reports to:

Committees and Groups that report to this Committee:

Working Group on Approval Processes for AMAs and Non-Credit-Bearing Activity

Related Committees and Groups:

Membership and Terms Of Reference

You can find a full list of members in the Membership List document below, or you can view the members by area in the table further down this page.

You can find more detailed information about this committee in the Terms of Reference below:

Chair and Secretary:

  Name Email
 Chair  Carol Marley  c.n.marley@aston.ac.uk
 Secretary  Belinda Cross  b.cross@aston.ac.uk


Membership by Area Represented:

The table below provides the contact details of the member(s) of this committee representing your area:

Area Represented Member Email
 Aston Business School  Matthew Olczak  m.olczak@aston.ac.uk
 Aston Business School  Louise Millard  l.g.millard@aston.ac.uk
 Aston Business School  Sarah Worton  s.worton@aston.ac.uk
 Aston Business School  Jenny Holt  j.e.holt@aston.ac.uk
 Aston Medical School  Ray Carson  r.carson@aston.ac.uk
 Aston Student Union  Ifti Hussain  union.vpe@aston.ac.uk
 CLIPP  Belinda Cross  b.cross@aston.ac.uk
 CLIPP  Professor Frank Eperjesi  f.eperjesi@aston.ac.uk
 CLIPP  Chris Wilson  c.j.wilson@aston.ac.uk
 Finance  Gurpal Singh Rai  raig1@aston.ac.uk
 Library and Information Services  Angela Brady  a.e.brady@aston.ac.uk
 Market Research  Phil Burke  p.burke@aston.ac.uk
 School of Engineering and Applied Sciences  Professor Tony Clark  tony.clark@aston.ac.uk
 School of Engineering and Applied Sciences  Donna Wheat  d.wheat@aston.ac.uk
 School of Languages and Social Sciences  Yvonne Henderson  y.henderson@aston.ac.uk
 School of Languages and Social Sciences  Dr Erika Darics  e.darics@aston.ac.uk
 School of Life and Health Sciences  Dr Alan Goddard  a.goddard@aston.ac.uk
 School of Life and Health Sciences  Trevor Knight  t.knight@aston.ac.uk
Student and Academic Services  Monjur Ahmed  m.ahmed@aston.ac.uk


Meetings

This Committee meets on a monthly basis.

Dates for 2019/20

This committee is scheduled to meet on the following dates:

 
 Date Time Room Deadline for papers
 10 September 2019  10:00 - 12:00  Council Room  27 August 2019
 15 October 2019  10:00 - 12:00  MB437  02 October 2019
 11 November 2019  10:00 - 12:00  Council Room  28 October 2019
 11 December 2019  14:00 - 16:00  Council Room  27 November 2019
 07 February 2020  10:00 - 12:00  Council Room  24 January 2020
 06 March 2020  14:00 - 16:00  Council Room  21 March 2020
 08 April 2020  14:00 - 16:00  Council Room  25 March 2020
 21 May 2020  10:00 - 12:00  Cpuncil Room  07 May 2020
 03 July 2019  10:00 - 12:00  Council Room  19 June 2020

 

News and Updates

The Committee will be undertaking the following work during 2018/19:

  1. Review of Programme Specification Approval Panels (PSAP);
  2. Development of guidelines/design principles for differentiation of credit for award titles;
  3. Development of guidelines/design principles for assessment equivalency;
  4. Review of Student Consultation process;
  5. Development of guidelines/design principle which outline how to reflect attendance/engagement of students within module specifications and alignment with learning outcomes.

Resources (login required)

Previous Meeting Minutes

Quality Committees

You can find more information about Committees supported by the Quality Team on the Quality Committees page

University Committee System

For more information on the University's Committee System, please visit the University Committee Webpages