Quality Identifier Small

Regulation Sub-Committee (RSC)

About

Purpose of the Committee:

Regulation Sub-Committee (RSC) is a sub-committee of Learning and Teaching Committee. It has a remit that spans the development and security of all academic University Regulations and the maintenance of academic standards.  RSC ensures consistent academic standards across the University through monitoring, review, and enhancement of the University’s regulatory framework, taking into account the implications of external bodies, policy, and changes in University strategy and practice.

Waivers of Regulations

RSC is also responsible for considering requests for waivers of regulations.  You can find more information about waiver of regulations here.

If you wish to apply for a waiver of regulations, please visit the Waiver of Regulations Applications page.

Reports to:

Operational Learning and Teaching Committee

Committees and Groups that report to this Committee:

RSC operates a number of working groups to review specific regulatory issues, varying on a year-to-year basis.  In 2018/16, the following working groups fall within the remit of RSC:

  • Flexible Programmes Working Group 

You can find the membership for this group below the RSC Membership table

Membership and Terms of Reference:

You can find a full Membership list in the document below, or you can view members by area in the table further down this page.

You can find more details information about this committee in the Term of Reference below.

RSC Chair and Secretary:

  Name Email
 Chair  Professor Chris Langley  c.a.langley@aston.ac.uk
 Vice-Chair  Dr Carol Marley  c.n.marley@aston.ac.uk
 Secretary  Adam hewitt  a.hewitt@aston.ac.uk

 

RSC Membership by Area Represented:

 Area Represented Member Email
 ABS  Colin Chapman c.chapman1@aston.ac.uk
 AMS  Dr Ray Carson  r.carson@aston.ac.uk
 CLIPP  Adam Hewitt  a.hewitt@aston.ac.uk
 EAS  Dr Tony Beaumont  a.j.beaumont@aston.ac.uk
 LHS  Professor Chris Langley  c.a.langley@aston.ac.uk
 LSS  Dr Sarah-Jan Page  s.page1@aston.ac.uk
 Student and Academic Services  Alison Levey  a.levey@aston.ac.uk
 Students' Union  Ifti Hussain  union.vpe@aston.ac.uk
 Students' Union  Richard Broome  r.broome@aston.ac.uk

 

Membership of Working Groups by Area Represented:

Flexible Programmes Working group:

 Representation Member
 Chair  Professor Chris Langley
 ABS  Karen Caine
 ABS  Simon Finley
 ABS  Emma Szurminski
 AMS  TBC
 EAS  Harry Goldingay
 LHS  Trevor Knight
 LSS  Sue Garton

 

RSC Meetings

This committee meets a minimum of three times per academic year, with additional meetings scheduled as and when required.

Dates for 2018/19

This committee is scheduled to meet on the following dates:

 Date Time Room
 22nd November 2018  10:00 - 13:00  MB154
 14th March 2019  10:00 - 13:00  SW407
 16th May 2019  10:00 - 14:00  SW407

 

News and Updates

25th July 2018

Regulatory updates for the 2018/19 academic year are now live.  A summary of regulatory updates, and new general regulations for 2018/19 are now available on general regulations page.

25th July 2018

The dates for the 2018/19 Exam Board Briefings have been confirmed as:

  • 27th November 2018, 11:00 - 12:30 in NW104B
  • 6th December 2018, 13:00 - 14:30 in G8
  • 10th May 2019, 12:00 - 13:30 in G8
  • 13th May 2019, 12:00 - 13:30 in G8

Exam Board Briefings for both UG and PG boards are now combined and delivered in a single session, so please feel free to attend any session for which you are available.

Resources (login required)

Previous Meeting Minutes: