Aston recognises leading academics as part of 50th Anniversary

Aston celebrates its 50th anniversary as a university in 2016

8 April 2016

As part of Aston University’s 50th Anniversary this year, the University is to award fifty 50th Anniversary Chairs to leading academics in recognition of their work.  

The 50 recipients will have demonstrated outstanding scholarship in their field - advancing their subjects nationally and internationally - and a continued commitment to the University and its reputation. 

These named Chairs will be awarded over the next ten years. In the University’s anniversary year the first 22 of Aston’s 50th Anniversary Chairs have been selected. They are: 

Professor Asif Ahmed

Professor Sahar Al-Malaika              

Professor Tim Baines 

Professor Pawan Budhwar 

Professor Richard Crisp

Professor Andrew Ellis                        

Professor John Gaffney 

Professor Tim Grant 

Professor Mark Hart 

Professor Helen Higson 

Professor Anthony Hilton

Professor Tomasz Mickiewicz

Professor Ian Nabney                       

Professor Yvonne Perrie 

Professor Jill Poole 

Professor Gertrud Reershemius 

Professor David Saad                         

Professor Ian Stanford 

Professor Brian Tighe                        

Professor Sergei Turitsyn                 

Professor David Webb                        

Professor James Wolffsohn 

Vice-Chancellor of Aston University, Professor Julia King DBE, the Baroness Brown of Cambridge, said: “Aston’s 50th Anniversary Chairs have all made a significant contribution to furthering scholarship in their chosen discipline. Their impact is not only wide-reaching externally, but they all also make a huge difference within the University through their willingness to do things differently, and through their commitment to Aston. I am delighted to appoint such a large number during our 50th Anniversary year and congratulate them on their exceptional contribution to Aston University.” 

All Chairs will receive a 50th Anniversary commemorative medal and a small bursary to use for academic activities. They will also be recognised through an ‘Anniversary Chairs’ photography series which will be unveiled later this year.  

The announcement of Aston’s Anniversary Chairs is just one of the ways in which Aston University is celebrating its 50th Anniversary this year. April 22nd, 2016 marks 50 years since the granting of Aston’s Royal Charter, completing its transformation from a College of Advanced Technology into a university. The year ahead will see a packed programmes of events and initiatives such as a reunion weekend for all Aston alumni from the last 50 years and beyond  on 23rd – 24th April, a re-dedication ceremony at Birmingham cathedral in September plus many more talks and events throughout the year.   

To find out more about Aston University’s 50th Anniversary and planned celebrations, visit:    

- Ends -

For further information, please contact Louise Ciaravella, University Communications on 0121 204 4637 or at [email protected]

Notes to Editors

Founded in 1895 and a University since 1966, Aston University  has been always been a force for change. For 50 years the University has been transforming lives through pioneering research, innovative teaching and graduate employability success. Aston is renowned for its opportunity enabler through broad access and inspiring academics, providing education that is applied and has real impact on all areas of society, business and industry. 

True to Aston’s Coat of Arms which bears the word ‘Forward’, the year-long anniversary celebration sees Aston celebrating heritage and achievements, but with a focus to drive forward the next stage in the University’s exciting journey.