Request a Shared Calendar


A shared calendar is created on Microsoft Exchange and associated with an department or team (for example: a department calendar, project calendar or team calendar).

  • The calendar is not owned by an individual but by the school or department.
  • The calendar can be temporary or permanent depending on its exact use.
  • The associated account/mailbox is not indended for use as an email account.

Such accounts are not fully covered by the University Monitoring Policy in terms of access, as the accounts are assigned to a function and not an individual.

To request a shared calendar, pleasecomplete the form below. IT Services aim to process requests within 2 working days.
  • Shared Calendar Details
  • The name of the shared calendar needs to be unique within the University, and should include the department name, section name (if applicable), purpose and the word "Calendar"; i.e. "IT Services Staff Holidays Calendar"
  • Requested By
  • Requester Name
  • Calendar Owners
  • Each person who should be listed as an owner (can open the shared calendar as a mailbox, manage permissions and web publishing settings) must be listed by their username (i.e. bloggsja) in the section below.
  • Calendar Editors
  • Each person who should be able to add, remove or edit appointments are called "Editors" and must be listed by their username (i.e. bloggsja) in the section below. This field is not mandatory as editors can be added by the owners after calendar creation.
  • Calendar Reviewers
  • Each person who should only be able to view appointments are called "Reviewers" and must be listed by their username (i.e. bloggsja) in the section below. This field is not mandatory as viewers can be added by the owners after calendar creation. Owners and editors always have viewer access.
  • Web Publishing
  • Web and iCalendar access allows you to send a private URL to people to allow access to the calendar from any PC, and subscribe using iCal to the Calendar using nearly any Calendaring software (including Google Calendar). By default this is enabled and the private URLs are sent to the owners after calendar setup. If you do not wish for this feature to be enabled, choose "No" below.